Surf Canada will select athletes to compete in the 2017 PASA Pan American Surfing Games in Lima, Peru Dec.1-9 in Shortboard, Longboard, SUP Surfing, and SUP Tech Racing for both Men and Women. All selections will be administered by Surf Canada.

1 Available Quota spot for Shortboard Mens.
The Mens shortboard Team will consist of the following:

1. National Champion ‘17, Peter Devries
2. Highest placing surfer from the ISA Worlds ’17, Noah Cohen
3. Winner of the NextGen Trials ’17, Max Selff
4. Winner of the Final Selection Trials (TBD)

1 NextGen (U18) spot was decided in Japan during the ISA’s which will leave 4 NextGen surfers still eligible to compete for the final spot against 12 Canadian invitees.

The Final Selection Trials format will be 3 separate back-to-back contests, points accumulate from each. After the 3 events, the top 4 will compete in the Grand Final. In the unlikely event of a tie going into the Grand Final, points will count back from each of the 3 events (3rd, 2nd, then 1st event), then if required, heat scores in the same order, until the tie is broken. Winner of the Grand Final earns the Final Spot, Runner-up is 1st Alternate.
Every heat will simulate the ISA, with 4 men, 20 min heats.

Surf Canada selections for the 2017 PASA PanAm may not be appealed, all selections are final.

Invitees(selected and ranked from Rip Curl Pro Tofino ’17):

Michael Darling
Kalum Bruhwiler Temple
Evan Puma-Moll
Ben Murphy
Kye Peladeau
Janek Peladeau
Issac Radysh
CC Unger-Mayor
Sepp Bruhwiler
Jack de Gruchy
Frazer Mayor
Malcolm Daly
Logan Landry
Simon Bauer – Alternate
Sean Foerster
Darren Lundquistt- Alternate
Nico Manos – Wildcard